I lasered my lunch!

After watching The Last Leaf in video form, I had a hankering for lasered lunch.
Why? Because.Well.Lasers!

While I was interested in the video from Ok Go already, I’ve seen it a few more times in the past week since danger!awesome exhibited at Cambridge Mini Maker Faire.

On Friday evening, I ran into Nadeem at Artisan’s Asylum for a presentation by the Awesome Foundation. We talked briefly about the video. One of the most powerful things he said was

We realized from doing that video that we can do anything. Even if we don’t know how. We can assemble a team of people and do it.

If you don’t know how, that shouldn’t stop you from getting started.

As lunchtime approached, It occurred to me that there was some nice bread on my sandwich. Nice, laserable bread. I made some letters, arranged the sandwich on the bed, adjusted the placement, and gave it a try.

While I was lasering up my lunch, some students stopped by to work on projects in my classroom. They got a kick out of it. I took a few photos because, well, I was going to eat the evidence. As the next class of students came in, I showed the pictures. Word does travel fast, since a few students into the group, one of them told me he had already heard about my Sammich Experiment.

This brings out the importance of meeting other makers. We need to see each other’s work, hear the stories of creation, and inspire each other. Seeing what somebody else did can cause each of us to reach to new ideas in our own creative work, which can influence the important creative work of others. I showed my lasered lunch project to a few people, and it got some of them thinking about their own projects. Pass it on!

Leave a Reply

